

R-1 chains required except for vehicles with snow tires (chains required for any vehicle pulling a trailer)

R-2 chains required except for 4-wheel drive with snow tires

R-3 chains required for all vehicles

CHAIN INSTALLATION SERVICES

Chain installers are not state employees. They are licensed workers required to display a permit on their jacket. Fees must be posted and a receipt given for payment. Chain installers are not permitted to sell chains.

CHAINING UP

- Move out of vehicle lanes.
- Park off roadways, freeways and access ramps.
- · Park out of path of snow removal equipment.
- · Install chains on vehicle drive tires.

Additional information regarding chain requirements in California may be found on the Internet at: www. dot.ca.gov

rain, fog & snow

BAD WEATHER?

- Slow down
- · Allow extra time
- Leave extra distance between you and the car ahead
- Gently apply brakes to avoid skids
- Open window a crack if caught in stalled traffic to avoid carbon monoxide poisoning

BAD WEATHER CHECKLIST

- · Tires with plenty of tread
- · Windshield wipers in good condition
- Washer full of fluid
- Gas tank full
- Defroster working
- Muffler and exhaust in good condition
- Antifreeze in radiator

Carry:

- Tire chains and tighteners
- Flashlight and batteries
- Flares
- Small shovel
- Windshield scraper
- Warm, waterproof clothing
- · Blankets, snacks and drinking water

CALL AHEAD FOR ROAD CONDITIONS

California road information from California telephones **1-800-427-7623 (ROAD)**

California road information from outside California
1-916-445-1534

Nevada road information 1-877-687-6237

Updated weather info also is available on the Internet: www.dot.ca.gov





rain,

- Drive with headlights on.
- Stay alert for vehicle hydroplaning.
- Apply brakes more slowly; they may pull.
- Leave extra distance between your car and the next motorist.

fog&

- Drive with lights on LOW beam. (It is illegal to drive with parking lights on).
- Watch for CHP pace vehicles to guide you through fog.
- Avoid crossing traffic lanes.
- Don't stop on highways except in emergencies.
- Move away from stalled or disabled vehicle.
- Consider postponing trip until fog clears.



- Carry chains in snow conditions, even if vehicle has 4-wheel drive. It's the law.
- Observe speed limit in chain control areas--25 mph on twolane roads and 30 mph on multilane roads.
- Check owner's manual for operating tips on your vehicle's braking system.
- Watch for paddle-shaped markers--they show the road's edge.
- Studded tires may be used between November 1 and April 30 only. (27454(e)(1) CVC)
- Stay with your vehicle if you break down.

CHAIN REQUIREMENTS

"R" ratings on snowy roads indicate chain requirements for various conditions.

Most vehicles come equipped with snow tires. Look for M&S (mud and snow), All Season, or All Terrain on side of tire.

Be aware smoke and dust are as deadly as fog.